Fighters Only Announce Nominees For 2020 World MMA Awards

Rob Hewitt, CEO of Fighter’s Only, today announces the Nominees for the 12th Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards and that the official voting website is live at Voting for the nominees starts now; the venue and the date for the Awards will be announced soon, as was detailed in a written statement released on May 27th.

In true MMA tradition, Fighters Only Magazine gives fans the power to determine who takes home a World MMA Award.

Fans can cast their votes now through their mobile devices, smart phones or PCs at Voting is live starting today, giving everyone the chance to vote for their favorite fighters, fight organizations, Ring Girls, MMA personalities and more, and will conclude on Friday, July 31st at 12:00 Midnight PT.

Fighters Only designates a panel of MMA industry experts to select the award nominees. The most anticipated awards include ‘Fighter of the Year’, ‘Knockout of the Year’ and ‘Upset of the Year.’ New to the program this year is the Fighting Spirit Award, which will go to the Nominee that best represents the true spirit and ethos of martial arts in their acts and deeds, either inside or outside of the cage.

Following are the Nominees for the Fighters Only 12th Annual World MMA Awards:

Male Fighter of the Year

Henry Cejudo
Israel Adesanya
Justin Gaethje
Jorge Masvidal
Douglas Lima

Female Fighter of the Year

Weili Zhang
Amanda Nunes
Valentina Shevchenko
Kayla Harrison
Cris Cyborg

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Weili Zhang
Gilbert Burns
Alexander Volkanovski
Jorge Masvidal
Petr Yan

International Fighter of the Year

Sam-A Gaiyanghadao Finishes Josh Tonna by Technical Knockout

Israel Adesanya
Weili Zhang
Kamaru Usman
Valentina Shevchenko
Aung La Nsang

Fight of the Year

Weili Zhang vs Joanna Jędrzejczyk (UFC 248)
Kamaru Usman vs Colby Covington (UFC 245)
Israel Adesanya vs Kelvin Gastelum (UFC 236)
Dustin Poirer vs Dan Hooker (UFC on ESPN 12)
Josh Emmett vs Shane Burgos (UFC on ESPN 11)

Knockout of the Year

Jorge Masvidal KOs Ben Askren (Flying Knee – UFC 239)
Cody Garbrandt KOs Raphael Assuncao (Punch – UFC 250)
Anthony Pettis KOs Stephen Thompson (Superman Punch – UFC on ESPN 6)
Sean O’Malley KOs Eddie Wineland (Punch – UFC 250)
Douglas Lima KOs Michael Page (Punch – Bellator 221)

Submission of the Year

Brent Primus SUB Tim Wilde (Gogoplata – Bellator Birmingham)
Bryce Mitchell SUB Matt Sayles (Twister – UFC on ESPN 7)
Aviv Gozali SUB Eduard Muravitsky (Heelhook – Bellator 225)
Demian Maia SUB Ben Askren (Rear-Naked Choke – UFC on ESPN+ 20)
Misha Cirkunov SUB Jimmy Crute (Peruvian Necktie – UFC on ESPN+ 16)

Comeback of the Year

Stipe Miocic (Fight/Career – regained title after losing to Cormier in their first fight. Was also losing the second fight until round 4)
Eddie Alvarez (Fight/Career – losing badly to Eduard Folayang before fighting back and winning via submission. Also lost first fight)
Jairzinho Rozenstruik vs Alistair Overeem (Fight – Rozenstruik losing until round 5 when he TKO’d Overeem with 4 secs left)
Peter Queally vs Ryan Scope (Fight – Queally knocked down badly in round 2, but fights back in front of a rampant Irish crowd)
Cody Garbrandt (Career – Lost three fights in a row before coming back and KO’ing Assuncao)

SFT MMA & Xtreme No. 1 in Brazil

Upset of the Year

Alexander Volkanovski def. Max Holloway (UFC 245)
Henry Corrales def. Aaron Pico (Bellator 214)
Kama Worthy def. Devonte Smith (UFC 241)
Kai Asakura def. Kyoji Horiguchi (Rizin FF 18)
Timofey Nastyukhin def. Eddie Alvarez (ONE Championship 92)

Coach of the Year

Mike Brown
Trevor Whitmann
Eric Albarracin
Sayif Saud
Eugene Bareman

Referee of the Year

Herb Dean
Mike Beltran
Jason Herzog
Marc Goddard
Frank Trigg

Ringcard Girl of the Year

Mercedes Terrell (Bellator)
Jhenny Andrade (UFC)
Louise McKie (Bellator)
Carly Baker (UFC)
Britanny Palmer (UFC)

Best Promotion

Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC)
ONE Championship
Professional Fighters League (PFL)
Konfrontacja Sztuk Walki (KSW)

Analyst of the Year

Daniel Cormier
Paul Felder
Dan Hardy
Robin Black
Michael Bisping

Best MMA Programming

Joe Rogan Experience MMA Show
Ariel Helwani’s MMA Show
Anatomy of a Fighter
UFC Embedded
Dana White’s Contender Series

MMA Media Source of the Year

MMA Junkie
The Athletic
The MacLife MMA

MMA Journalist of the Year

Brett Okamoto
Ariel Helwani
John Morgan
Mike Bohn
Gareth Davies

Gym of the Year

American Kickboxing Academy (AKA)
American Top Team (ATT)
Elevation Fight Team
Sanford MMA
Fortis MMA

Leading Man of the Year

Dana White, UFC
Scott Coker, Bellator MMA
Martin Lewandowski, KSW
Nobuyuki Sakakibara, Rizin
Densign White, IMMAF

MMA Personality of the Year

Joe Rogan
Chael Sonnen
The Schmo
Jon Anik
Big John McCarthy

Fighting Spirit Award

Dustin Poirier (Charity work with The Good Fight Foundation)
Justin Wren (Charity work with Fight for the Forgotten)
Robbie Lawler (Sportsmanship following loss to Ben Askren at UFC 235)
McGregor (Charity work with donation of €1m of PPE equipment in Ireland)
Walt Harris (Fighting Spirit – bravery to return to fighting following step daughters death)
Trainer of the Year

RJJ Boxing & iKON MMA Official Results

Phil Daru
George Lockhart
Bo Sandoval
Andre Hicks
Sunz Singh

About Fighters Only:
Fighters Only Magazine was the world’s first monthly Mixed Martial Arts and lifestyle magazine, having launched in the UK in 2005. By 2008, the publication was on sale in 33 countries worldwide. A dedicated U.S. edition was launched in February 2007 featuring content for the largest market in the world, followed by Canadian, German, Mexican and South African editions. Fighters Only content is also accessible via a digital version of the magazine, accessed via iTunes and Android devices as well as its website and social media accounts reaching over one million followers. The company launched the World MMA Awards in 2008 to celebrate the achievements of everyone within the global sport of Mixed Martial Arts and has since established itself as the industry awards annual event. Each year, an industry panel of experts selects nominees across 20 different categories. Once nominees are announced, fans inherit the power to determine the winner by voting for nominees through the official Awards website,, using their mobile devices, smart phones or personal computers. The most anticipated awards include Fighter of the Year, Knockout of the Year and Fight of the Year. Awards are presented to recipients during a highly prestigious live gala event attended by a who’s who of athletes, fighters, celebrities and other famous personalities in sports and entertainment.